Home / State requirements / New York
New York CME requirements
Continuing medical education and license renewal rules for clinicians licensed in New York, as recorded by MedLicense for planning.
Planning aid only. MedLicense is not legal or compliance advice. Boards change rules between cycles, so confirm every requirement with the board before you rely on it.
- Licensing board
- New York State Education Department (Office of the Professions)
- License lookup
- Public license verification
- License renewal
- Every 2 years
MD CME requirements
Reviewed 2026-10-31 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-10-31. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.
Board-approved course required At least one topic must come from a course the board has approved, and a general CME course may not count. Check the board’s approved list before you buy.
- Total hours
- No hour minimum recorded every 3 years
- License renewal
- Every 2 years
Required topics
| Topic | Hours | How often | Applies to | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing | 3 | Every cycle | DEA registrants | Pain management, palliative care and addiction coursework for DEA-registered prescribers, every 3 years |
| Infection control | No minimum | Every 4 years | Everyone Board-approved course required | Infection control coursework every 4 years; no hour count fixed |
| Child abuse recognition | 2 | Once | Everyone Board-approved course required | One-time at first licensure: child abuse identification and reporting |
Notes. No general CME hours for physicians. Mandated coursework: opioid/pain/addiction every 3 years for prescribers, infection control every 4 years, one-time child abuse. Registration is every 2 years.
DO CME requirements
Not yet verified Not yet verified, confirm with the board. This entry has not been checked against the board’s own published rules.
Board-approved course required At least one topic must come from a course the board has approved, and a general CME course may not count. Check the board’s approved list before you buy.
- Total hours
- No hour minimum recorded every 3 years
- License renewal
- Every 2 years
Required topics
| Topic | Hours | How often | Applies to | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing | 3 | Every cycle | DEA registrants | Pain management, palliative care and addiction coursework for DEA-registered prescribers, every 3 years |
| Infection control | No minimum | Every 4 years | Everyone Board-approved course required | Infection control coursework every 4 years; no hour count fixed |
| Child abuse recognition | 2 | Once | Everyone Board-approved course required | One-time at first licensure: child abuse identification and reporting |
Notes. Copied from the MD block as a planning default; the osteopathic rules were not separately confirmed. Confirm with the board.
NP CME requirements
Reviewed 2026-11-01 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-01. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.
- Total hours
- Not recorded, and the renewal cycle is not recorded
- License renewal
- Every 2 years
Required topics
| Topic | Hours | How often | Applies to | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pain management | 3 | Every cycle | DEA registrants | Public Health Law 3309-a(3): prescribers with a DEA registration must complete 3 hours in pain management, palliative care and addiction once every 3 years. |
| Child abuse recognition | 2 | Every cycle | Everyone | One-time 2 hours on identifying and reporting child abuse and maltreatment, required of registered nurses at initial licensure; NPs hold an RN license. Updated mandated-reporter coursework due by November 17, 2026 for those trained earlier. |
| Infection control | Not recorded | Every cycle | Everyone | Course on infection control and barrier precautions required of registered nurses every 4 years under Education Law 6505-b; hours not stated on the page read. |
Notes. NYSED Office of the Professions pages (nurse practitioner prescriber education, RN mandated training). No general NP CE hour total was found on the pages read; triennial registration. NP renewal fee $35 per certificate plus $73 RN registration (FAQ).
PA CME requirements
Reviewed 2026-11-01 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-01. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.
- Total hours
- Not recorded, and the renewal cycle is not recorded
- License renewal
- Every 2 years
Required topics
| Topic | Hours | How often | Applies to | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Infection control | Not recorded | Every cycle | Everyone | Physicians, PAs and specialist assistants must complete infection control course work at initial licensure and every 4 years under Public Health Law 239; hours not stated on the page read. |
| Pain management | 3 | Every cycle | DEA registrants | Public Health Law 3309-a(3): prescribers with a DEA registration must complete 3 hours in pain management, palliative care and addiction once every 3 years. |
Notes. NYSED Office of the Professions PA mandated training pages. The child-abuse training requirement lists physicians and RNs but not PAs. No general PA CE hour total was found on the pages read.
CRNA CME requirements
Not yet verified Not yet verified, confirm with the board. This entry has not been checked against the board’s own published rules.
- Total hours
- Not recorded, and the renewal cycle is not recorded
- License renewal
- Every 2 years
Required topics
| Topic | Hours | How often | Applies to | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Infection control | Not recorded | Every cycle | Everyone | Registered nurses complete infection control course work every 4 years (Education Law 6505-b); hours not stated. |
| Child abuse recognition | 2 | Every cycle | Everyone | One-time 2 hours of child abuse identification and reporting for registered nurses. |
Notes. NYSED does not list nurse anesthetist as a separate NP specialty or credential on the nurse practitioner pages read, so a CRNA appears to be governed as a registered nurse; requirements shown are the RN mandated trainings. No CRNA-specific CE hours found. Confirm with NYSED.
Plan this renewal
Use the free opioid CME planner to see the controlled-substance rules for New York next to other states, or the license cost calculator to estimate fees. Read how multi-state CME works if you hold more than one license.
Nurse practitioners, physician assistants, nurse anesthetists and anesthesiologist assistants usually also maintain national certification, which has its own cycle. The recertification basics guide explains how that fits alongside state rules.
Keep every hour and deadline in one private place
MedLicense tracks licenses, DEA registrations and CME hours on your own devices, without an account.
Download MedLicense